A Year In Europe
 
Well I think this is the longest between posts I have gone yet. I have been meaning to write but it's been a busy few weeks. I have been in FInland now for two weeks and Im settling back in ok. I had my first week of work last week which was a bit hard after 2 months of partying and skating but the routines starting to come back. I had a couple of weeks in England after Czech visiting family and spending time with my mum who was visiting at the same time. It was nice to see the Grandparents again and all the other crew who I haven't seen in a long, long time. The last time I was in England I was 9 and apart from a few of them coming to Australia a few years back, that was the last time I saw any of them. Mums friend organised a day of free paint balling for my cousin Tom and I which was a bit of a laugh. People aren't lying when they tell you that it hurts. Mum and I visited the worlds oldest church which is an incredibly modest, wooden building. It is quite a small church and out in the middle of no where (as close as you can get to the middle of no where in England anyway). Although it was nice to see family and spend time in the one place for a while I was not all that impressed with England. There are far to many people for such a small area, things are incredibly over priced and EVERYTHING costs. Every country I have visited in the past I have always known of something that I would like to do or see but in England there wasn't anything that took my fancy. It may have been because I was at the end of my trip and very eager to get home. I would like to go back again and spend some time further up North and see what else is about. I am hoping to get back over later in the year for another visit before I head back to Australia.


Yesterday we had the 2010 Aulanko jam which is a race that Julia and I had been organising. The event raised money for SLL's project in the Saimaa area and we managed to get a couple of hundred Euros which we were happy with. Originally we were supposed to have over 40 riders but the weather on the day was sour (after a week of warm sun) and a lot of them chickened out I think. None the less, we got through the day with a successful event and although the road stayed wet all day, we didn't have a drop of rain. I met a lot more of the Finnish skating crew which was nice and Julia and I received a lot of positive feedback. A big thanks to Plum boards, Rip Curl and Asfaltikukka for helping out with the donation of equipment and prizes. Also a big thanks to Bugs from ASRA for all his help via email with the organising side of things.


Tomorrow I am back to work and I begin my Finnish language classes in the afternoon which I am both excited and nervous about. My time in Finland is running low now and Julia and I are trying to work out what we are going to do. I need to find some work and a place to live in Australia during the next couple of months and if Julia decides to come back to Australia then we need to find her something too. Unfortunately I was unable to register for the Newtons Playground race in Australia this year. With a severe lack of funds after the Euro our and the possibility of not having work or a home when I return it was all a bit to hard this year. A bit of a disappointment to my 2010 racing season but it could be worse I suppose.


Wish me luck in my language classes.
9/29/2010 10:43:16 am

Teachers are the architects of successful societies.

Reply
12/16/2010 04:01:53 pm

Christmas Eve is the hardest day of the festive period for single parents, according to a recent survey

Reply
2/16/2011 03:56:44 pm

Thank you very much for the information I really appreciate it!!

Reply
2/16/2011 04:07:03 pm

There needs a long apprenticeship to understand the mystery of the world’s trade.

Reply
5/8/2012 10:22:22 am

Wow! This can be one particular with the most valuable blogs We have ever arrive across on this subject. Truly Excellent. I'm also an expert in this subject so I can understand your hard work.
http://www.michaelkors-outletstores.com

Reply



Leave a Reply.